Re: OT: PayPal fake website?
- From: Beryl <fourl@xxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sat, 05 Dec 2009 23:31:05 -0800
Bill Bowden wrote:
I got a suspicious email a few days ago concerning my PatPal account
which requested going to the PayPal website to fix the problems of
excessive non-correct logins. I reported the the email to PayPal
without a response.
I went to PayPal to check my account at the resolution center and
found no outstanding issues.
Anybody else get this kind of stuff?
The suspicious site is still in operation at:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
-------------------------------- original email
-----------------------------------
Resolution Center: Your account access has been limited.
Date:8/11/2009
Dear member of PayPal...
Due to the number of incorrect login attempts,your Paypal account has
been limited for your security. This has been done to secure your
accounts and to protect your private information in case the login
attempts were not done by you. At PayPal we care about security so,
for your protection we are proactively notifying you of this activity.
If you did not trigger this limited ,follow this link: To access the
form, please click on the link below :
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Copyright © 1999-2009 PayPal. All rights reserved.
If that's the actual email copied/pasted, I'd say it's fake. The style, grammar, and punctuation are just too clumsy.
"If you did not trigger this limited ,follow this link: To access the form, please click on the link below :"
"Trigger this limited" ??
Spaces sometimes before commas, instead of after?
Spaces sometimes before colons?
The two sentences with their colons are redundant anyway. The first one leaves you hanging, then the second sentence leads to the (same) link, it's STUPID.
If you did "trigger this limited" now what, don't follow the link?
If you did _not_ "trigger this limited" what do they expect you to do?
Access the form? WHAT form? Sounds like bait.
.
- References:
- OT: PayPal fake website?
- From: Bill Bowden
- OT: PayPal fake website?
- Prev by Date: Re: OT: PayPal fake website?
- Next by Date: Re: core memory
- Previous by thread: Re: OT: PayPal fake website?
- Next by thread: Re: OT: PayPal fake website?
- Index(es):
Relevant Pages
|