Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: "Ross A. Finlayson" <raf@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Thu, 20 Mar 2008 21:46:56 -0700 (PDT)
On Mar 20, 8:21 pm, charlesrkiss <charles.k...@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
On Mar 20, 8:24 pm, "Ross A. Finlayson" <r...@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
On Mar 20, 2:24 pm, "Ross A. Finlayson" <r...@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
On Mar 20, 1:55 pm, charlesrkiss <charles.k...@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
Google needs to step up their quality and fix this bull***, or get
out of the groups business!
Get out of the *what*?
--
Jesse F. Hughes
They need to get out of the business pretending that having an open
server with some BBS, under the pretense it is scientific or
mathematical, has more value than just having an open server with some
BS.
Charles
The spam is pretty bad there, and, it's coming through Google groups,
and, they should do something about that.
I look at the "Google profiles" of the various accounts posting the
spams. They post to usenet groups, AND, Google's private groups. So,
the spammers are some kind of Google phenomenon, and, they've ruined a
variety of the groups on Google, besides just infesting usenet groups.
http://groups.google.com/group/Google-Groups-Guide
That appears to be the Google group about Google groups.
Here I shall write them a letter.
"How is Google reining in spammers through Google Groups? (Something
is Broken)
There are some big problems with spam originating from Google groups
members going out to USENET. The past month or two has seen spam on
USENET that there hasn't been for many years if ever, and, 99% of it
is coming through googlegroups.com. As well, these spam posters are
spamming through Google individual Google groups as well.
These posts are spam, they are totally off-topic and posted all over
the place, basically porn, knockoff goods, and various assorted
garbage.
What's Google doing to solve this problem by restricting posts through
Google groups to usenet to prevent these spams going out? How can
there be a particular notification method to Google of these blatant
spammers, so that Google's reputation is not further damaged and the
healing process of un-spamming usenet can begin?"
I appreciate the notion of marking spam posts as spam, but it doesn't
eliminate them, kind of like pancake over plague sores.
Math Forum seems to be doing a pretty good job of cutting out the
spams. While that may be so, their interface is terrible to use, in
terms of web to usenet gateways.
It seems that these automated spammers through Google Groups are the
problem. Google, listen, as a responsible net citizen Google Groups
shouldn't be allowing these spams through to usenet.
http://groups.google.com/group/Google-Groups-Basics/browse_thread/thr...
That seems to indicate the Google is trying to cope with the matter
and solve this problem, which is probably caused by only a handful of
miscreants.
Considerhttp://groups.google.com/support/bin/request.py?contact_type=abuse_le...
, a possible method of at least notification to Google of these
spammers. It seems reasonable that for each Message-ID of spam via
googlegroups.com, they should get sent into this form here, in a more
or less automated manner, where, all the headers of the post can be
included in the description, so that at least for posts to sic.math,
these spams from googlegroups, that maybe there can be handled them in
a more or less automated manner on the googlegroups side, in
suspending and canceling these bogus accounts.
Google seems to want to hear about these spams, it's possible that by
actually sending each of the spams from googlegroups back through the
abuse interface, that it would be easier or more mechanical, at least,
to remove the offending spam from the google groups, and hopefully as
well encourage them to send out cancel control messages for those
spams which do escape their domain to usenet proper.
So, what do people think about proactively sending Google the spam
identifiers, in a more or less automated manner, towards, getting
Google to stop forwarding these posts? It would help if it was known
beforehand that the receive side of the abuse interface could handle
automated posts up to the volume of spams coming from
googlegroups.com, thus that it wouldn't simply flood their response
mechanisms. It seems that if, for each spam to sci.math, sci.logic,
etcetera from googlegroups, that was filed through Google's preferred
notification method for these misuses, that would make it easy for
Google to facilitate canceling out the spams.
Ross
Google does a pretty good job of removing contents and accounts from
Youtube that contain "adult" material. And I can remember when this
"group" was moderated, by whomever.
Google is just trying to save themselves some fricking cash for their
cronies by not taking any responsibility for this crap. Dont get me
wrong, we can all enjoy a little adult content now and again, when in
the mood. But here? Give me a break, they need to get their name off
this page (see above, top left corner), remove the word, "Groups" from
their search page, or do something about this horrible spam my kids
have to sift through reading when looking to post a simple question in
"sci.math." Or is it porn.sci.math?
In doing some research through Google groups, consider something along
the lines of "at3yulg2", who posted as early as Sep. 2, 2007.
In its early posts at3yulg2 promotes leadclub.com, and later
atomicsearchoptimization.com. The leadclub.com seems pretty shady,
consider for example how it links to "directorym.com", which has
fraudulent seeming claims to wsj, inc, and other business notions.
The atomicseo.net outfit advertisements its "organic link-building" in
terms of generating data for this search optimization type thing,
i.e., "astroturf" type grassroots, fake.
X-HTTP-UserAgent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.0;
SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR
3.0.04506),gzip(gfe),gzip(gfe)
The at3yulg2 first appears around September 2, 2007. Then, another
interesting account is "noah harmon", along with a wide variety of
other yahoo e-mail addresses that are apparently random letters.
Someone has implemented a bot that post in various fora these under
these various account names these various postings. Consider "sergio
clive", "curtis schneider", "randolph duncan", and etcetera
http://groups.google.com/group/Kenison-Counting-Numbers/topics?start=260&sa=N
X-HTTP-UserAgent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.2;
SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322),gzip(gfe),gzip(gfe)
The first post of "noah harmon" post appears to be to "Kenison
Counting Numbers", with X-IP: 222.209.126.65 , with no reverse DNS
lookup (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reverse_DNS_lookup ).
http://www.robert.net/ccTLD/ARPA/IN-ADDR/222 , the block's in China.
(Various hosts are from many places, and many of them are probably
zombie hosts, computer hosts that are virus hosts, enabling circuitous
routing for track hiding, other hosts indicate the Ukraine, India,
etcetera, almsot certainly innocent if ignorant dupes.)
http://groups.google.com/group/Kenison-Counting-Numbers/msg/0f3374a850ae9fa7?dmode=source
Now, all of the posts to that group except the first appear to be
computer generated. The various accounts, and there aren't totally so
many as there are variously many complications in setting up "free" e-
mail accounts from yahoo or gmail or whoever, print copy that may have
been written by a person, or could be generated by a chatbot in an
easy to understand manner.
Consider these accounts names: at3yulg2, brwqvi8h, ro3z4xqh, ayt46g6b,
rq5znszb, MVSLINKS, e7hrqzo, afqs64bt, rq5znszb. Now, searching for
any of those reveals a list of posts by those names, and indications
that they are automated spam in the response to the various usenet
newsgroups where they posted. Yet, at this point, they don't have the
"user profile" link next to them in the Google groups interface, where
other accounts do.
So, looking for posts of September 2 2007 to sci.econ, there are a
variety of them from this spam bot.
Basically I have a notion that early posts that can be attributed to
this spam flood can be identified as sources, vectors, of these spam
bot virii. So, then maybe various patterns towards identification of
the probably very small group irresponsible for this are clearly out
in the open, if an amateur like myself can find these kinds of things
in a few hours.
Ross
.
- Follow-Ups:
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: Ross A. Finlayson
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- References:
- WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: Bill
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: Dave L. Renfro
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: conesetter
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: amzoti
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: quasi
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: Mensanator
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: charlesrkiss
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: charlesrkiss
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: Jesse F. Hughes
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: charlesrkiss
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: Ross A. Finlayson
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: Ross A. Finlayson
- Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- From: charlesrkiss
- WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- Prev by Date: sex sex downlond
- Next by Date: Slutty Lesbians full movie clips. Free galleries
- Previous by thread: Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- Next by thread: Re: WHY HAS THIS SITE BECOME SUCH A SPAM TARGET???
- Index(es):