Re: God's Blessings to Christians
From: Don Kirkman (donkirk_at_covad.net)
Date: 10/02/04
- Next message: DogWag: "Re: The Friend of America's Enemies Is John KKKerry ~ Old arabic saying"
- Previous message: Bill Clinton: "Re: Vitamin Supplements May Boost Cancer Risk"
- In reply to: Christian Person: "God's Blessings to Christians"
- Next in thread: Dr. Andrew B. Chung, MD/PhD: "Re: God's Blessings to Christians"
- Reply: Dr. Andrew B. Chung, MD/PhD: "Re: God's Blessings to Christians"
- Reply: MU: "Re: God's Blessings to Christians"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Date: Fri, 01 Oct 2004 23:27:25 -0700
It seems to me I heard somewhere that Christian Person wrote in article
<67mpl0d2pkrlb90f987m91rv6orsducjr2@4ax.com>:
Some ill-tempered person wrote an earlier response to this post over my
signature. :-)
I'm going to try again, more thoughtfully and with a fuller explanation
of my concerns.
I apologize if the poster is in fact a legitimate participant, but the
headers raise too many questions for me to assume that to be true.
> ---------------------------------
> | God's Blessings to Christians |
> | By Major D.R.P. of the USS-SA |
> ---------------------------------
This introduction somewhat suggests that the author is associated with
the Salvation Army, though of course it doesn't say so and it may be a
red herring, a sense strengthened by the dodginess of much of the header
information.
The message apparently was posted from a library, perhaps through an
open relay, to airnews.net, not through the ostensible ISP,
truthrus.org, or its upstream suppliers secureserver.net or jomax.net.
I have great respect for the Salvation Army and the members I have
known, and if the author is in fact associated with it I would expect
him to follow in the tradition of the corps and act decently. By that I
mean using a real name and a clearly legitimate ISP (one of the upstream
providers, Go Daddy Software, Inc., is often used by spammers and others
who play fast and loose with newsgroup etiquette). Acting responsibly
also means posting only where the message is on topic and not posting
sectarian religious proselyting material in a newsgroup whose organizing
material specifies that its topic is the science of medicine with
reference to cardiology.
If the author is legitimate, I expect never to see another message like
this and the previous message on "How to become a Christian." There are
legitimate newsgroups dedicated to such topics and interests.
I don't think the author has posted here under this user ID except for
these two religious tracts. Perhaps someone in the group invited the
posts; if so it behooves that person to see that this doesn't happen
again.
>Introduction
>------------
>Most of the time I greet cashiers with an upbeat "How are you doing
>today?" There are many answers -- doing good -- fine -- great --
>could be better -- can't complain, etc. Twice recently, in two
>different stores, I have received the reply, "I'm blessed!" What a
>blessing these women were to me!!!
[...]
-- Don donkirk@covad.net
- Next message: DogWag: "Re: The Friend of America's Enemies Is John KKKerry ~ Old arabic saying"
- Previous message: Bill Clinton: "Re: Vitamin Supplements May Boost Cancer Risk"
- In reply to: Christian Person: "God's Blessings to Christians"
- Next in thread: Dr. Andrew B. Chung, MD/PhD: "Re: God's Blessings to Christians"
- Reply: Dr. Andrew B. Chung, MD/PhD: "Re: God's Blessings to Christians"
- Reply: MU: "Re: God's Blessings to Christians"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ]
Relevant Pages
|