Foresight Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology: Deadline

From: Foresight Institute (
Date: 06/29/04

Date: 29 Jun 2004 00:57:36 GMT


The deadline to nominate a colleague to be considered for the
prestigious Foresight Institute Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology
is Wednesday, June 30, 2004.

Established in honor of Nobel Prize winner Richard Feynman,
two prizes, one for theory and one for experimental work,
will be awarded. These prizes recognize researchers whose
recent work have most advanced the achievement of Feynman's
vision for nanotechnology: molecular manufacturing, defined
as the construction of atomically-precise products through
the use of molecular machine systems.

The Foresight Feynman prizes will be presented at the
Feynman Prize Banquet to be held as part of the:

October 22, 2004
Crystal City Marriott Hotel
Washington, DC USA

An award of $5,000 will be given in each category to the
top submission selected by the committee.


*** Past WINNERS ***

2003 Feynman Prize Winners
Experimental: Carlo Montemagno (University of California at Los Angeles)
Theory: Marvin L. Cohen and Steven G. Louie (University of California at

2002 Feynman Prize Winners
Experimental: Chad Mirkin (Northwestern University)
Theory: Don Brenner (North Carolina State University)

2001 Feynman Prize Winners
Experimental: Charles M. Lieber (Harvard University)
Theory: Mark A. Ratner (Northwestern University)

2000 Feynman Prize Winners
Experimental: R. Stanley Williams (HP Labs), Philip Kuekes (HP Labs), James
Heath (UCLA)
Theory: Uzi Landman (Georgia Tech)

1999 Feynman Prize Winners
Experimental: Phaedon Avouris (IBM)
Theory: William A. Goddard III, Dr. Tahir Cagin, Ms. Yue Qi, (Caltech)

1998 Feynman Prize Winners
Experimental: M. Reza Ghadiri (Scripps Research Institute)
Theory: Ralph C. Merkle (Zyvex, LLC), Stephen Walch (ELORET NASA Ames)

1997 Feynman Prize Winners
Experimental: James K. Gimzewski (IBM Zurich Research Laboratory), Reto
Schlittler (IBM), Christian Joachim (CEMES-CNRS)
Theory: NASA Ames, MRJ Team-Charles Bauschlicher, Stephen
Barnard, Creon Levit, Glenn Deardorff, Al Globus, Jie Han, Richard Jaffe,
Alessandra Ricca, Marzio Rosi, Deepak Srivastava, H. Thuemmel

1995 Feynman Prize Winner
Nadrian C. Seeman (New York University)

1993 Feynman Prize Winner
Charles Musgrave (Caltech)



Individual submissions are preferred, but teams
of two or three will be considered.
Submission must arrive by June 30, 2004.



Research areas considered relevant to MNT (e.g., molecular
manufacturing and molecular machine systems) include but are
not limited to:

         supramolecular chemistry
         molecular machines
         scanning probes
         biomolecular machinery
         computational chemistry


Information should be submitted by email attachment, URL, or on
CD--no paper, please. Files may be sent in these formats: txt, html,
doc, or pdf. Graphics may be sent in any browser-readable format.

Please put information in attachments rather than in the body of
an email.

Nominations must state which Prize is being applied for
(Experimental or Theory);
have a summary with the nominee's address,
telephone, and (if possible) fax and email address; and
must include at least one (ideally, all) of the following:

URL of bio, CV, and/or research group
List of up to five most relevant publications
URLs for, or electronic files of, up to five
most relevant publications
Statement of up to 400 words describing the work and its
relevance to the goal of MNT, e.g., molecular manufacturing
and molecular machine systems. [If the work has multiple authors,
the nominee's role must be stated.]

Submissions should be emailed to, or CDs
mailed to Foresight Institute to arrive by June 30, 2004. If you are sending
your submission by express mail or federal express, please contact us for our
street address.

Contact information should be included for nominator as
well as nominee. Finalists may be contacted for additional information.


Foresight Institute
PO Box 61058
Palo Alto, CA 94306 USA
tel +1 650 917 1122
fax +1 650 917 1123


Foresight is the leading public interest organization in
nanotechnology. A non-profit educational think tank,
Foresight Institute was founded in 1986.